Channel Transponder Scanning

About F10S pictures, software, upgrades, tutorials, any technology and the use of the problem
quiver09
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:44 pm

Channel Transponder Scanning

Post by quiver09 » Tue Jul 25, 2017 8:25 am

Hi All,
Does anyone know how the different channel scanning options work on the F10S for the different search types - Network Search (On/Off) and Scan mode (Blind Scan, Preset Scan and TP scan) combinations- I am assuming a TP scan is only specific to channels on that individual transponder.
However if the Network search is on then it appears to search all the channels in each transponder, irrespective of the Scan mode?
Hope someone can help. Thanks Ernie

quiver09
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:44 pm

Re: Channel Transponder Scanning

Post by quiver09 » Tue Jul 25, 2017 8:45 am

tp01.jpg
tp01.jpg (1.67 MiB) Viewed 1861 times
tp02.jpg
tp02.jpg (1.6 MiB) Viewed 1861 times

slovb911
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:19 am

Re: Channel Transponder Scanning

Post by slovb911 » Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:03 am

hello.
In this press the remote control of the left and right keys, you can choose the search mode "bind scan""tp scan" "preset scan".
tp05.png
tp05.png (467.67 KiB) Viewed 1858 times

quiver09
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:44 pm

Re: Channel Transponder Scanning

Post by quiver09 » Tue Jul 25, 2017 2:55 pm

Thanks slovb911. What is the outcome from each type of channel scan- a possible of 6 different results.
-------------------------------------------------------------
-Network Search Off - Blind Scan => Appears to scan all transponders
-Network Search Off - Preset scan => Appears to scan all transponders
-Network Search Off - TP Scan => Just scans all channels from that one transponder
-Network Search On - Blind Scan => Appears to scan all transponders
-Network Search On - Preset scan => Appears to scan all transponders
-Network Search On - TP Scan => Appears to scan all transponders

Is it best to go for Network Search On with Blind scan to get all possible channels from that Satellite
Cheers Ernie

slovb911
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:19 am

Re: Channel Transponder Scanning

Post by slovb911 » Wed Jul 26, 2017 3:26 am

Single Satellite Search and Multi Satellite Search :D

quiver09
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:44 pm

Re: Channel Transponder Scanning

Post by quiver09 » Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:57 pm

Ok, tried the Single Satellite search- with options Network Search On with Blind scan and got all the possible channels from that satellite.
If you use Network Search On with Preset scan it finds less channels.
Cheers Ernie

wwesaa
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 10:09 am

Re: Channel Transponder Scanning

Post by wwesaa » Thu Jul 27, 2017 3:58 am

thanks for sharing

quiver09
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:44 pm

Re: Channel Transponder Scanning

Post by quiver09 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:58 am

Hi Team, To ensure HD channels are scanned correctly, suggest the following setting:-

Settings -> Antenna Setup -> 22 khz must be on , not auto....

(Auto and 22KHZ give different scanning results- Don't understand why or if there is an issue in software?)
Thanks

quiver09
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:44 pm

Re: Channel Transponder Scanning

Post by quiver09 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 2:27 pm

Hi All, Just noticed that over the last few firmware releases, the TP Scan option seems to have disappeared. Back on earlier releases (Pre 2018) within the Dish Setup/TP List, we used to have three types of scan options- Network Scan, Preset Scan and TP Scan.
Now all we have are the Blind Scan and Preset Scan options. Sadly this means that you cannot update the channels from one specific transponder, and the only option left is to do a full satellite search (from all the transponders) which is a bit of an overkill, when you generally find a media provider has updated channels from an individual transponder. :?:
By doing a full satellite search, also messes up your favourite lists, and so these have to then be verified/corrected. :shock:
Thanks

quiver09
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:44 pm

Re: Channel Transponder Scanning

Post by quiver09 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 3:05 pm

quiver09 wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:58 am
Hi Team, To ensure HD channels are scanned correctly, suggest the following setting:-

Settings -> Antenna Setup -> 22 khz must be on , not auto....

(Auto and 22KHZ give different scanning results- Don't understand why or if there is an issue in software?)
Thanks
Seems to be a real quirk here. Been experimenting with the satellite channel searches with different firmware releases. if you use firmware 20180903 or 20180611 or 20180706 (latest), then you will get less channels discovered from a satellite search (Network On, Blind Scan)
For example on 13E you get around 860 scanned channels, but if you use the older firmware 20171512 or earlier, you get around 1340 scanned channels. :o
That is a big difference!. Its the same on 0.8W and 19.2E giving less scanned channels. Will try 28.2 next!

Post Reply